Magalit Love Language: Playful “Angry” Affection

The magalit love language emerged on the pop-culture scene as a “6th love language.”

Maybe you’ve seen the TikTok videos lately? 

People take a love language quiz on screen, and their results show “magalit.”

Every person responds with a stupefied look and says, “WTF is magalit?”

Nobody really knows, but everybody wants to.

According to Google Trends, it’s a breakout term of 2023; everyone wants to know what this new love language is and if it applies to them.

That only leaves one question…

What is magalit?

It’s many things, but I will fill you in!

This article will teach you:

  • What is magalit, and where does it come from?
  • What is magalit love language?
  • What to do if your partner’s demonstrates a magalit love language? 

Keep reading to find out all about the magalit love language meaning and how to know if it’s your love language!

What is the meaning of the term magalit love language?

“Magalit” is a term derived from the Filipino language, Tagalog.

Literally, it pertains to the feeling of anger or displeasure.

It’s emotionally significant in interpersonal connections among Filipinos because they use it in many contexts.

Magalit harbors a range of depths, from shallow to deep. 

Filipino culture, renowned for its close-knit family ties and values such as kapwa (togetherness) and pakikisama (companionship/keeping smooth interpersonal relationships), deems magalit to be a significant emotion.

It’s not only an emotion.

It is an active response to a situation or behavior that is unpleasant or offensive. 

Magalit represents a disruption in the communal peace and relational harmony cherished within the society. 

Related  7 Good Morning Questions that Create Happiness

Therefore, in Filipino culture, when someone is said to be magalit, it is viewed with a sense of urgency.

There is a need for a resolution to restore the equilibrium within relationships.

The Magalit Love Language

Within the cultural context, the word itself symbolizes a disruption of harmony and contentment; however, its meaning is different regarding love. 

As a love language, magalit refers to expressing and receiving love through playful roughness, light-hearted teasing, and being “mean” or “angry” with flirty, sarcastic banter or humor. 

To explore magalit regarding love languages, one must first understand Dr. Gary Chapman’s Five Love Languages.

Chapman suggests that each individual has a primary love language through which they naturally express love and prefer to receive it. 

Understanding one’s love language and the love language of one’s partner is pivotal to effective communication and deepening emotional connections in relationships.

What makes you feel valued?

Feel loved?

If you’re unsure about your love language, you can discover it here!

According to Chapman, the five love languages include: 

1. Words of Affirmation: Expressing love and appreciation through verbal compliments, words of appreciation, and verbal encouragement.

Meaning: Saying, “I love you,” “You mean a lot to me,” or “You’re doing a great job.”

2. Acts of Service: Demonstrating love by performing actions to help or serve the loved one. (Think actions speak louder than words.)

Meaning: Doing a chore for the partner, helping with tasks without being asked, or cooking a meal.

3. Gift-giving: Giving and receiving tangible items as expressions of love and care.

Meaning: Giving a thoughtful gift during special occasions or small, unsolicited gifts to show appreciation.

Related  Empower Yourself Against Narcissistic Manipulation

4. Quality Time: Providing undivided attention and spending meaningful time together.

Meaning: Engaging in activities together, having deep conversations, or simply spending focused time together without distractions.

5. Physical Touch: Expressing love through physical contact and touch.

Meaning: Hugging, kissing, holding hands, and other forms of physical touch.

If we’re considering magalit to describe another sixth love language, it might look something like this:

6. Magalit: Demonstrating love through playful and lighthearted teasing or contempt, mimicking roughness, and using mean language in a tongue-in-cheek way to elicit affection. 

Meaning: Playfully messing up hair or jokingly saying, “You look terrible right now,” before pulling in for a kiss. Exaggerated “trash-talk,” competitiveness, or offendedness in jest.

Remember, we all experience love in different ways.

What Should I Do If My Partner’s Primary Love Language is Magalit?

Understanding magalit through the lens of love languages allows individuals to decipher their partner’s desires, intentions, unspoken words, and unfulfilled needs.

It emphasizes the necessity to comprehend how love is expressed, especially by individuals from different cultures.

Playful “anger,” exemplified by the magalit love language, is not merely an emotion to be quelled but signals a different approach to expressing love and care.

It forms a paradox where the lighthearted expression of dissatisfaction and anger becomes a precursor to love and nurturing within relationships.

If it’s not something you’re used to, it can be a challenge to accept and use magalit as a way of receiving or giving love.

So what should you do if that’s you?

If your partner’s love language is magalit, don’t take their teasing seriously or be put off by a little roughhousing.

Related  10 Brutal Truths for a Love that Lasts

Recognize the signs, and try to get comfortable showing them a little love through playful, sexy, contemptuous language or a gentle wrestling match over the remote. 

Remember, if someone possesses the magalit love language, this is also how they feel love from others, so it’s important to try and meet them on their level. 

Do You Possess the Magalit Love Language?

Although magalit may be rooted in negativity and discord, the new-age use of the word paradoxically paves the way to better understanding the intricate web of emotional and relationship dynamics.

Exploring the magalit love language enables individuals and relationships to blossom through the mindful acknowledgment of each emotion or gesture as valid and significant. 

This fortifies connections between partners and also ensures the continual nurturing and evolution of relationships.

No one love language is superior to another, and it’s important to remember that everyone gives and receives love differently. 

Hopefully, this article has helped decipher the magalit love language and given tips on how to understand and utilize it in your current or future relationships.

Would you say that you use the magalit love language style?

Or are you more about quality time and receiving gifts?

Have you ever had a partner whose love language was magalit?

Tell us about it in the comment section.

Be the first one to leave a comment!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *